Launch of CMF Yorkshire and Humber branch

The Conservative Party is a party for all parts of the country, and Muslims are now found everywhere in Britain. Accordingly setting up local branches is a key part of the Conservative Muslim Forum’s strategy.

Friday 5 July 2013 saw the the launch of our branch for Yorkshire and Humber at an event in Bradford which was well attended by grass roots members as well as leading members of the business and professional community and local leaders from the Conservative Party. Many different communities were represented, as illustrated by the collage below.

As indicated by the above collage, the event was well supported by women as well as men.

In the group photo below, from left to right, are: Mr Jason Aldiss, Mr Gerry Yates, Ms Yemi Fagboran, Ms Sabya Khan, Ms Falak Naz, Baroness Warsi, Lord Sheikh, Mrs Itrat Ali, Ms Shamaila Khanum, Lady Shaikh, Mr Raja Najabat Hussain.


There was an impressive array of speakers which included:

  1. Mr Raja Najabat Hussain, who did more than anyone to make this event happen.
  2. Major Zahoor Baigh who opened the event with a Quran recitation.
  3. Mr Iftikhar Ahmed, President, Bradford Conservative Association.
  4. Mr Allah Ditta, Assistant Treasurer, Bradford Conservative Association.
  5. Councillor Glen Miller, Leader of the Conservative Group on Bradford Council.
  6. Mr Chris Rowell, Chairman, Conservative Future Yorkshire and Humberside.
  7. Mr Jason Aldiss, Chairman West Yorkshire Conservatives.
  8. Mr Philip Allott, Parliamentary Candidate for Halifax.
  9. Mr Gerry Yates, Regional Conservative Party Chairman, Vice-President of the National Convention.
  10. Mr Mohammed Amin, Deputy Chairman, Conservative Muslim Forum.
  11. Lord Sheikh, Chairman, Conservative Muslim Forum.
  12. Baroness Warsi, Senior Minister of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs and Minister for Faith and Communities.

The vote of thanks was given by Mrs Itrat Ali.

The officers of the new CMF Yorkshire and Humber branch are listed below:

Mrs Itrat Ali – Chairperson

Mrs Falak Naz – Deputy Chairperson

Mrs Shamila Khanum – Secretary

Dr Almas Rashid – Treasurer

Most of the speakers are included in the collage below.

Top row, from left to right: Mohammed Amin, Glen Miller, Philip Allott, Jason Aldiss, Gerry Yates, Lord Sheikh.

Bottom row, from left to right: Major Zahoor Baigh, Allah Ditta, Iftikhar Ahmed, Raja Najabat Hussain, Mrs Itrat Ali.

Right hand panel: Baroness Warsi

about author


The Conservative Muslim Forum was founded by Lord Sheikh in 2005. All of its members are full members of the Conservative Party.